Happy New Year!

2010!  Can you believe it? Last night was my first New Year’s Eve celebrated in Pennsylvania. You may or may not know that my husband and I recently relocated to central PA after living in North Carolina for years.  I was truly amazed at the plethora of items being dropped in this area in anticipation of the coming new year. In York, a white rose. In Hellam, a shoe. In Dillsburg, a pickle. And in Lebanon, a bologna. That’s right, a bologna. And while my husband and I enjoyed our New Year’s Eve in, next year you can bet I’ll be in Lebanon. Who doesn’t want to see 200 lbs of bologna descend slowly while counting down to a new year?

Today I started the process of taking down our Christmas tree. I would have liked to leave it up a little longer, but apparently the needles and my vacuum cleaner are engaged in battle. I took the hint. Taking down the Christmas tree is a big deal for me.  This is the first year in many that we even put a tree up. When we lived in North Carolina, we always spent the holidays on the road. It didn’t seem worthwhile putting up a tree when we wouldn’t be home to enjoy it.  But now that we’re living closer to family, we had a chance to slow down and enjoy some of the traditions of season that we’ve missed out on the last few years. I loved taking the tree down as much as I did putting it up. Each ornament and each string of lights reminds me of someone or something. Every Christmas, my in-laws give us an ornament with the year marked on it. And, we have several really great vintage ornaments from the 1950’s and ’60’s my grandparents gave to us. I got to remember and relive great holiday memories all over again taking the tree down.

I hope you and yours had a happy one this year and wish you all the best in 2010.

Leave a Reply

