Oh winter…

I love running.  But, every winter I struggle to maintain mileage.  You see, I’m an outdoor runner. Despite having cold weather running clothes, I can never seem to stick with my routine during the winter months and have to start all over again each spring. Really, I marvel at runners who manage to stay vertical on a treadmill for any length of time.

This year, I decided I was going to power through. I was going to reduce my mileage, pile on the layers and be a dedicated runner.  Then, we moved to Pennsylvania where the weather can only be described as f-ing cold! Here’s what I’ve learned about running in temperatures below 30 degrees (I’m not even factoring in wind chill at this point):

  • It takes at least 30 minutes for the feeling to come back into your hands once you’re done running and settled into a heated area.
  • Ice cicles can form on your sports bra and they will stab you while you’re running.
  • Some manufacturers make special running gloves/snot rags just for the cold weather.

Yup, I think it’s time for me to come to terms with my treadmill fear and give it another go.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

