The sun was shining

The temperatures didn’t break 40 degrees but the sun was shining and that was enough to get me out the door to run.  (Have I ever mentioned how much I HATE treadmill running?) Just started using Daily Mile to track my workouts and runs.  You can follow my progress by clicking on the Daily Mile icon in the sidebar.  I’ve been considering registering for a half-marathon in April.  In 2008, I trained for the Marine Corp Marathon in six months….Seems like I should be able to get my mileage back up for a half by April, right?

I’m one of those crazy non-running runners.  I participated in sports in high school, but it might be a stretch to say I was an athlete.  I abandoned most physical activity during college.  It wasn’t until my senior year of college that I started to get more active.  I took some dance classes–something I hadn’t done since I was a child. Then I met my future husband, who was very active and I started joining him at the gym (partly to work out, but mostly to enjoy the view!). I started running shortly thereafter and have run ever since–about nine years.  For years though I never had a running schedule. I didn’t track my miles.  I didn’t buy fancy running shoes. I only just started wearing a watch when I decided to train for the Marine Corp Marathon in 2008.  The time, the distance…they aren’t important to me.  What is important to me is that I do it because it makes me feel good.

Still, I’m starting to come round and discover there are advantages to calling myself a runner.  For birthdays, Christmas, really any gift giving occasion, runners are likely to get some sort of running gizmo, gadget or accessory.  Really, it’s ridiculous how excited I get over a pair of new running socks.  I have a whole host of running blogs I read regularly for inspiration. And, occasionally I find myself drooling over the latest gadget from Garmin (and then start brainstorming my million dollar idea, which clearly I need to have to afford one of those things).

I think what I love most about running though is that it makes so many other things in life seem possible.

Leave a Reply

