Making mozzarella

I’m drinking my coffee black this morning.  We’re out of cream (and milk, and yogurt, and…well, you get the picture).  Guess grocery shopping is on my list of to do’s today.

A quick running update…Even though Monday morning was cold, windy and rainy, the afternoon turned out lovely.  Once the rain stopped, the sun came out and temperatures held in the high 40’s. So, I made it out for a run after all.  I did my usual 3.5 mile route through town.  Been thinking about registering for a half-marathon.  I have until the end of January if I want to take advantage of the early bird registration.

Last night we made mozzarella!  We attempted to make mozzarella before with less than desirable results. However, our March/April issue of Hobby Farm Home, inspired us to try it again.  It came out perfect! Hobby Farm Home turned to “the definitive bible of cheese making,”  Home Cheese Making by Ricki Carroll for a brilliant 30-minute mozzarella recipe.

Our inspiration.

Separating the curds and whey.

Balls of mozzarella chilling in a bowl of ice water.

We topped tomato slices with the fresh mozzarella and drizzled them with balsamic vinegar.

Dinner followed not long after.  Sausage and mushroom soup from Food & Wine Magazine’s Quick from Scratch Italian Cookbook.  My mother gave this cookbook to us as a gift a few years ago.  It doesn’t look like a substantial cookbook, but it really has some GREAT recipes–simple, quick, flavorful, and the dishes look absolutely beautiful. We probably cook from it ever other week.

One of my favorite cookbooks.

Sausage and mushroom soup. Almost ready!

Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of the soup in serving bowls.  I was pretty hungry by this point. The soup barely made it to bowls before going into my mouth.

Leave a Reply

