Our Nation’s Capitol

Was in DC this week visiting my sisters.  They both live right in the city and I’m seriously envious of their exciting city lives.  I actually arrived in the city on Sunday when congress was voting on health care.  Crowds were gathered outside protesting/rallying reform. It was incredible to be right there–in the middle of history happening.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera (ok, lesson learned…ALWAYS CARRY A CAMERA!).  Anyway, here are a few pics from my visit.

Supreme Court

The Capitol

Visiting the Botanical Garden

I'll never understand how to take pictures of flowers. This is the only one that didn't come out blurry.

Spent Monday visiting some of the city's great galleries and museums like the Hirshhorn.

My first visit to the National Portrait Gallery. In addition to the amazing art, the architecture of this gallery is worth the visit.

The National Building Museum. Visit the "Washington: Symbol and City" exhibit.

I love finding a great coffee house. Jacob's came recommended.

I also had an amazing dinner of mussels and fries at Granville Moore’s.  I would have taken a picture of this diamond in the rough, but my sister said she would absolutely walk away from me if I pulled my camera out and took a picture.  Frankly, I don’t mind weathering a little embarrassment from time to time to get a shot to share with all of you.

I’m headed to our local library book sale this weekend.  I have a strict $5 limit.  And, I made it out for a couple good runs this week.  Despite fair weather yesterday, I passed on running in favor of drinks and wings at our favorite Irish pub, Mc Cleary’s.  We were in mourning.  We recently put an offer on a house, but had to walk away after being unable to agree on a sale price (among other reasons).  Such is life.  I hope all of you have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

