Weekend Recap

Weekend Workouts
Saturday: usual upper body strength training (3 sets, 12-18 reps of bicep curls, triceps, chest press, shoulders w/ 5lb weights), plus ab workout
Sunday: walking hill intervals, 20 min.; 15 minutes running @ 11min/mi pace

Made it out to the local library’s annual book sale.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I have a serious weakness for library book sales.  I put myself on a strict $5 budget.  Hardbacks were $2 so I mostly avoided those.  (Although I did find an amazing hardback copy of The Secret Garden published in the 1960’s that had a lovely little handwritten note on the inside cover dated 1968.  It had wonderful lime green tree illustrations on the inside jacket.  Okay, so maybe I should have broken budget for a classic. Lesson learned.) Here’s what I walked away with.

World: Let me introduce you to my new Lovelies. Lovelies: Meet the World.

The classics and poetry always suck me in (I walked around for nearly an hour carrying a paperback version of Whitman’s Leaves of Grass, Deathbed Edition, before ultimately deciding that’s one I’d actually like to have hardback).  Eat, Love, Pray…okay, I’m a little behind on my bestsellers (I’m also behind on movies, tv shows,and… well, most things. I like to go at my own pace). I was really excited to find a copy of Joyce Carol Oates’  We Were the Mulvaneys. While I hate that the copy I purchased has a huge Oprah Book Club stamp on the cover, I’ve been wanting to read something by Oates.  She’s been one of America’s most prolific authors since she published her first novel in the 1960’s and I’ve never read a single one of her works.  Shame on me! Here’s what I was up against at the book sale.

This is why it's important for me to stick with a strict budget. It could easily get out of control.

Eat your heart out John Grisham fans.

Cook books! I'm already the proud owner of 30 cook books. And, I actually use them. All of them.

Cook books offer a nice transition into my weekend cooking adventures.  Amazing meal of the weekend…homemade stromboli.

Making the dough.  Hubby used a recipe for italian bread rather than pizza dough.

Hubby used an italian bread recipe for the dough rather than one for pizza dough.

Use bread flour rather than all purpose. It really makes a difference in how quickly your dough will rise.

The fill includes slices of prosciutto, mushrooms, onions, garlic, parmesan and cheddar cheese, and homemade tomato sauce.

After pinching the edges closed we're ready for baking.

Yes, it was a good as it looked.

Alright, ya’ll.  That’s my weekend recap.  Hope everyone has a good week ahead.

One Comment on “Weekend Recap”

  1. […] may remember I picked up this gem of book at a recently library book sale.  My mother came up to visit a few days ago and I couldn’t stop talking about it.  When you […]


Leave a Reply

