A beef what?

A beef what?

We purchase our beef for the year in bulk from local farmers.  It’s getting to be that time of the year again when we’re getting down to the last few soup bones and a package or two of ground beef.  Yesterday, I looked in the fridge and thought, “What should I cook for dinner?”  Our choices always get slim toward the end of the week since we usually do our grocery shopping on Friday at a farmers market.  No worries. I headed downstairs to rummage through the last few remaining vacuum sealed packages of beef in the deep chest freezer. Hmm, no ground beef after all.  But what’s this? A roast?  How did I miss that before? Hmm, again.  No label.  Don’t know it’s weight.  Will it thaw in time for dinner?  I took my roast upstairs and placed it on a plate in a sunny spot.  Hopefully by the evening I could throw it in the slow cooker with some potatoes and carrots.  Around 5:30pm my husband got home from work.  We’re both hungry. Our stomachs were growling.  I told him I have a roast in the kitchen, but I’m not sure if it’s thawed enough for dinner.  He went to the kitchen to poke it when I hear, “Hey hon. You know this isn’t a roast, right?” Not a roast? What?  “What do you mean,” I asked.  “It’s a beef heart,” he replied.  Yup, that’s right folks, A BEEF HEART.  And I thought it was a roast.  Upon closer inspection you could see a number of large veins and unusual striations.  What the hell? Why do we even have a beef heart?  Even if other people eat them, I sure as hell don’t.  I politely told my husband he would have to take care of it.  Now that I knew it was  heart, I couldn’t possibly go near it.   We had a smorgasbord of leftovers for dinner instead.

Leave a Reply

