But I’m sick

I was hoping to get in a long run today at this great county park I discovered last week, but I’m sick.  I picked up a cough on Thursday afternoon out of no where. Friday my voice started to go.  Today, well… I’m thinking about getting back in bed once I’m done my morning coffee.  I did change-up my routine this week and made an effort to run in the morning before work on Tuesday and Thursday.  I thought I’d have trouble getting out of bed at 5:45am, but I woke up before the alarm went off.  Still, they weren’t great runs for me.  I struggle to run in the morning even at races…I’m just not that coordinated early in the morning. More than that, I felt like I didn’t have energy to burn.  What do people eat before a morning run?  When I run in the afternoon I avoid eating before I run especially when it’s hot outside. I hate feeling food slosh around in my stomach. But if I’m going to have any chance of being a morning runner, I’ve got to find a way to fuel up before running.  Tuesday’s run was 2.87 miles in 34:17 and Thursday’s was a little better at 2.88 miles in 29:50.  Those times, as always include my walking warm-ups and cool downs.  Think I’ll try to stick with the morning runs for a few more weeks and see if I can’t make it a habit.

Leave a Reply

