Still here

Monday morning with my new pottery mug my mom picked me up on her recent trip to Western North Carolina.

Happy belated  July 4th!  I love long weekends. Hope you enjoyed your holiday.  Been keeping busy here in the Susquehanna Valley.

Made it out to run twice last week.

June 28,3.83 mi., 42 min.

Jun 30, 3.38 mi., 37 min.

Those times include a 2 minute warm-up and cool down. Plus, I got in a few lower body workouts that include mostly lunges and squats.

Still haven’t gotten my new running shoes.  I actually have to wear two pairs of socks to keep my feet blister free. I know, it’s ridiculous. Yesterday I tried on a pair of Nike Pegasus 26. They felt great. Now, I just have to find them at a price I’m willing to pay.  Even though I know it’s a good investment, spending $100+ on a pair of shoes is hard for me.

So, what else have we been up to?  CHEESE!  Hubby and I (okay, mostly hubby) made our first wheel of hard cheese.  Check it out:

First, making the cheese press. Hubby is very handy.

Recycling the canister from an old ice cream maker for our cheese press.

Farmhouse Cheddar from Rick Carroll's "Home Cheese Making."

Separating the curds.

Draining the curds.

Pressed cheese. I somehow managed to miss getting a single shot of the cheese press in action. This is what the cheese looks like after roughly 12 hours of pressing.

After letting a thick rind develop, we waxed the cheese for aging.

We have to let the cheese age for a month.   I keep telling people there might be a wine and cheese party in our future.  Can’t wait to try it.  Will let you know how it comes out.

Leave a Reply

