Another year wiser

I celebrated a birthday this week.  And not just any birthday–my 30th birthday!  When I got home from work hubby had a beautiful bouquet of flowers waiting for me.  All pink–roses, carnations, lilies, gerber daisies–gorgeous.

Hubby took me out dinner at the Accomac Inn.  We had never been, but frequently saw signs for it around town.  It’s in a beautiful stone building sitting right along the Susquehanna River.  The main dining level has a great porch area for dining. In the evening it’s lit with lanterns.  It was hot this past week so we had dinner indoors.  The main dining room is lovely with a large stone fireplace and deep set windows with candles.  The Accomac Inn has one of those menus that makes your mouth water when you read it.  You just know it’s going to be good.

Some of you already know, but I actually have a list of top five meals of all time.  Slots 1, 2 and 3 are already taken and pretty firmly ranked.  This meal–my birthday dinner at the Accomac Inn–may just slip in at number 5.

We ordered a bottle of Spanish wine with our appetizer–tempura fried brie with spiced peach compote. AMAZING!  The brie was so soft and warm underneath the crunchy tempura.  The peach compote added a contrasting sweetness to the tempura, but the spices kept it from be overly sweet.

For an entrée, I ordered pan-roasted Gerber Farm Amish chicken breast with sweet corn risotto, braised gem lettuce, garden vegetables, lemon-sage jus.  I have to tell you…It was really the sweet corn risotto that made me jump at this dish.  It sounded so simply yet still so delicious.  The vegetables and risotto were cooked perfect.  My one criticism of the whole meal, my chicken breast was just slightly dry.  Still flavorful, but with just a little dryness.

Hubby’s entrée though, as soon as it came the table, I started to wonder if I ordered the wrong dish.  Hubby ordered Canard Rôti . It’s one-half of a Joe Jurgielewicz duck flambéed tableside;  roast breast and leg confit, zucchini purée, roasted peach, swiss chard, blueberry jus. EVEN MORE AMAZING.  I would have never guessed in a million years to combine duck with blueberry jus, but the flavors paired surprisingly well. (Actually better than “well” but I seem to be using the term “amazing” too much.) The zucchini puree melted in your mouth.  (You see, I know how hubby’s meal tasted because I ate half of his too.)

We both savored every bite.  Somewhere along the way, hubby managed to tell the wait staff that it was my birthday.  While we were checking out the dessert menu, two chocolate covered strawberries piled on a bed of real whip cream showed up with birthday wishes from the staff.  How sweet, right?  One white chocolate covered, the other milk chocolate covered.

We quickly settled on dessert–chocolate, peanut butter cheesecake.  I had a cup of coffee, while hubby got an Irish coffee. But this wasn’t just an ole’ cup of Irish coffee.  This cup was flambéed tableside and served in a wine glass.  The top of the wine glass was coated with sugar, then caramelized. Irish whisky was poured in the glass and lit on fire, followed by coffee and a mound of whip cream.

The food was delicious, the presentation inciting and the service welcoming. Yup, I pretty sure this meal is going to slide in at number 5 on my list of top five meals of all time.  All in all, it was a pretty good birthday.  Many thanks to all my friends and family who wished me well.

Leave a Reply

