Couldn’t be happier

Well folks, I couldn’t be happier.  Ran the National Half Marathon last weekend and shaved a full five minutes off my half-marathon time from last year finishing in 1 hour, 59 minutes.

Many thanks to my older sister and her hubby for letting me and my hubby crash at their home in DC for the weekend. My hubby and older sister rose before the crack of dawn at 5:30 am to make the brisk 20 minute walk to the start line at RFK Stadium and wish me luck before I headed to my race corral.  I don’t know how corrals were organized–I imagine by qualifying race times.  I found myself at the third corral closest to the end.  Every runners fear is finishing last, I guess.  No worries though.  Based on preliminary results, I placed 3928 out of 9256 half-marathon runners.

It took me a full 10 minutes just to cross the start line and almost immediately I settled into a comfortable pace.  I tend to run a little faster at races.  Must be the adrenaline.  But the course was fairly flat especially compared to my usual runs so I found a comfortable pace and stuck with it.

It was freezing in the morning.  I wore several layers plus gloves.  My legs and feet were so numb the first couple of miles I figured I might as well go for it because I wouldn’t feel the pain anyway.  Except…the pain never came.  In fact, I felt great the whole race and time flew by. While I wear a Garmin when I run, I rarely look at it when I’m on the go.  I enjoy running for the sake of running and don’t like to dwell on the time, distance, etc.  Despite being a chilly morning, it was a beautiful day in DC.  The sun was bright and the city was alive with spring already (maybe it’s spring where you are but it’s snowing in central PA tonight).

What a great route through the city. I couldn’t believe the number of community groups, churches, and college students that came out to cheer on runners.  Not to mention folks along the route .  I like to pretend they’re all cheering for me.  Extra motivation, you know.

Somewhere along the line, someone yelled out, “Great job. Ten miles down,” and I couldn’t believe it.  10 miles already?  I checked my Garmin and was just past 1:32.  I knew if I kicked it up, I might be able to beat my time from last year.  Other than being super hungry–my stomach was actually growling–I felt great. So, I went for it.  Close to the finish line I was really pushing, but the crowd kept saying, “You’re almost there.”  Yeah right!  I must have sprinted the last mile!  Liars!  I don’t care though really.  They pushed me to a great finish.  I loved seeing hubby, my sister and brother-in-law waiting for me at the finish.  That’s the best part.

Later that day, the rest of the fam drove into town for lunch.  I mean, what a great day, right?  An early start. A super great run. Time with the fam.  That’s it–that’s my perfect day, folks.

I hope everyone is having a great week and staying warm where ever you are.  To Okay, Peanut…If you’re reading, happy b-day.  Hope it’s a good one.

2 Comments on “Couldn’t be happier”

  1. mindy b. says:

    “Some people come into our lives and quickly go. Some stay for awhile and leave footprints on our hearts. And we are never, ever the same.” You’ve made my day in ways I can’t describe. I’m so proud to call you ‘friend.’ THANK YOU!!!

  2. mindy b. says:

    This was supposed to be the comment I was going to leave originally … until I got to the end and started crying! 😉 Congrats on your race time! That’s awesome!!! So glad you had a fabulous day, too!!!


Leave a Reply

