Saturday’s run

A beautiful fall day, so of course I took advantage of it for a run.  4.07 mi., 40:02.  This is the time of year when I  swear up and down that this will be the winter I power through, go hard core, suck it up and run through the cold, sleet and snow.  Who am I kidding?  I HATE running in the cold. Plus the last two winters in Central PA have been harsh.

Don’t give me all that, “If you dressed in layers,” crap.  Yeah, I got your layers, and they still don’t help with the searing jaw pain and general numbness.  And no, I don’t warm up after a little while.  If fact, sometimes I worry I’ll injure myself because my feet and legs are so numb I can’t always feel where they are.  Trend mills–also not an option.  I’m one of those people who actually has to use the safety cord.  I’ve fallen off those things on at least one occasion I’m willing to admit to.  Come on people!  I’m a super klutz. I can barely stay on my feet on a good day.

Still every year when the days grow dark and the chill creeps in, I vow to make an effort.  Even if I fail miserably (which I usually do), and have to start all over building my mileage in the spring (which I usually do), running has always been about the effort. I run because I can. So wish me luck (and lots of warm thoughts) as I embark on another cold-weather running season.

Leave a Reply

