Summertime

And the living’s easy…  Nothing makes summertime easier than a swimming pool. What?  I never mentioned we had a swimming pool? Oh well, that’s because until recently, there’s no way anyone would have mistaken the black swamp just out our back door as a swimming pool.

When hubby and I moved into our little-house-in-the-country two summers ago, we uncovered the pool.  Then, we quickly decided to cover it back up and wait until next year. This summer though, I was determined to open the pool at all cost–no matter what might be dead (or alive?) under the black, murky water.

I looked and looked for a “before” picture of the pool, but couldn’t find one. Believe me folks, I’m doing you a favor. This is a glance of the water after our first pool consultation which turned out to be a bit of a game to see who could find the right combination of pool chemicals to clear the murk from the water to see the bottom of the pool. Turns out it’s difficult to evaluate the condition of a 20+ year old concrete pool when you can’t see below the surface. I prayed there wasn’t a dead ground hog, opossum, deer or other mammal buried in the murk at the bottom.

After that first consultation, hubby and I called in the big guns for some serious evaluation. Turns out the pool wasn’t really as bad as we thought it might be given its age and recent lack of maintenance.  The pool folks definitely recommended an overhaul, but two of the three thought we could probably make it a few seasons with some minor repairs and serious cleaning, as long as we weren’t too worried about aesthetics.  Hello solution!  That’s what I like to hear.  With all the confidence of two pool rookies, hubby and I (well, mostly hubby) set out to get this puppy open.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments on “Summertime”

  1. Jess says:

    I’m ready to come swimming but I don’t see the swim up bar!

  2. K2 says:

    AMANDA! Finally remembered the name of your blog! When you get a chance, can you send me an email with your current address please?!? I have something I need to send you and everything I have it out of date. Thank You! k2


Leave a Reply

