1st Race

Registered for my first race of the season–the Capitol Hill Classic on May 19. I registered for the 10K.  A little ambitious given the fact that I can count, on one hand, the number of times I’ve been running since getting the ok from my doctor. True, I’m a bit of a cold weather wimp and typically skip out on running during the winter months.  But Spring is here, or er, at least it’s supposed to be.

I have managed to get out for a few 2-milers.  Hubby always asks, “Did you have a good run?” To which I reply, “Good enough.”  Good enough because I’m running. I’ve missed it terribly.  But it’s obvious that my body is not in the shape it was in per-pregnancy despite dropping most of the baby weight rather quickly.

It’s funny because I feel like I’m running super fast. I can feel the wind. I can hear the sound of my footsteps. And I’m delighted that my knees seem to be tolerating the pounding.  But when I get home and look at my Garmin, I find I’m running soooo SLOW!

I’m not really worried about the distance.  I’ve been running long enough to know what my body will tolerate.  With more than a month to go, I’m confident I can condition my body for the roughly 6 miles.  I don’t however, plan on setting any PR’s.  Looking forward to it.

One Comment on “1st Race”

  1. […] I struggled after having the baby to get back to my regular running routine and my first race of the year ended up being my only race of the year. Despite that, I still managed to log more miles […]


Leave a Reply

