Welcome to the family

I’m a person who’s motivated by rewards.  Take a look at my new reward…

IMG_6097

Saucony Kinvara 3

Ooo, pretty!  Last month I ran the Capitol Hill Classic 10K–my first race since welcoming my little one into the world this past December.  I promised myself a reward for running 6 miles before she turned 6 months. Welcome to my world Saucony Kinvara 3. I’d been drooling over them and was super surprised when they arrived in the mail one day.  Hubs…He even ordered the right size (I always get my running shoes a size larger).

It was time to retire my Brooks Ravenna 3. Oh the miles they’ve seen.  I love my Brooks running shoes.  In fact, until I tried Brooks, I never thought a shoe could make much of a difference in my running. A pair of Ravenna’s, two Adrenaline’s and a Ghost later, still loving Brooks running shoes.  There will certainly be more Brooks in my future.

Still, I’d heard so many good things about Kinvara that I was really wanted to try them. I’ve strayed from Brooks before. I tried a pair of well-reviewed Nike’s and New Balance shoes in the past, but for me, they weren’t anything to rave about.  I’m super excited to get out and road test my new Kinvara’s.

I’ll be road testing something else on my next run, too.

IMG_6101

Folks have asked how I’ve managed to go this long without a jog stroller. Truthfully, I don’t know.  I typically avoid running during the cold months, so it wasn’t an issue during the winter months.  While training for the Capitol Hill Classic, I squeezed in runs here and there–early mornings, late evenings, quick intervals with the walking stroller. I managed, but it wasn’t ideal by any means.

I picked this one up used for a steal.  An InStep Safari jog stroller with a swivel front wheel.   It has an adjustable handle, foot break, and pocket and basket storage.  The canopy has a plastic widow that’s great for sneak peaks but can be covered to keep little ones safe from the sun.  The canopy can also be pulled back. The seat is also adjustable and can recline for sleepy little ones (perfect for my little one who can’t seem to keep her eyes open any length of time in a stroller…It’s just so soothing!). I laundered some of the material and wiped the rest down with wipes.  Hubs made sure the tires had enough air.  Other than a little fading on the canvas, it’s in great shape.  Can’t wait to use it.

One Comment on “Welcome to the family”

  1. […] this story to a few friends already, but it’s still funny. A few months back I picked up a jog stroller for $40 bucks on Craigslist.   I love running with my little one and now, thanks to my jog […]


Leave a Reply

