Nobody told me

How did I not know this?  I totally completely missed National Cheese Lover’s Day on January 20. How could I overlook such an important holiday? Honestly, I don’t know why we don’t celebrate this holiday everyday.  Cheese is a necessary staple in my diet. It’s right up there with beef jerky and fancy imported meets from Italy. (Yes, my diet really does contain large quantities of these items.)

So,  I hear spring is around the corner. Honestly though, I’ll believe it when I see it. We’ve had a heck of a winter here in Central PA.  I’m a cold weather running wimp. Every fall I say I’m going to suck it up and be hardcore this winter.  But every spring I find myself starting over.  Such is life. I accept this about myself.  Fortunately, I’ve learned a thing or two in the 10+ years I’ve been running, including how quickly I can build up my mileage. So, I’m starting easy.

March 11: 4.06 miles, 37:05

March 12: 1.76 miles, 27:18

March 15: 2.44 miles, 21:20

I’ve also incorporated some light strength training two days a week. I find even light strength training helps me go the distance.  Also registered for my first race this year–the Capitol Hill Classic 10k–in May.

Leave a Reply

